Reviewer of the Year Awards 2018

28 Mar 2019 Simon Davies

As part of IOP Publishing’s commitment to recognise and reward peer review, it has announced its Reviewer Awards winners for 2018.

The best reviewers from each journal have been carefully selected by IOP’s Editors based on the quality, quantity and timeliness of their reviews.

Most journals have chosen one person to receive the Reviewer of the Year Award, and selected several other excellent reviewers to receive Outstanding Reviewer awards.

Please visit the respective journal pages to see the winners listed in full. From more than 100,000 reviews for IOP in 2018, we selected the top 1,244 reviewers from 67 different countries.

Peer review forms the backbone of scholarly communication, providing essential rigour and validation for published papers. IOP Publishing wishes to thank everyone who provides this valuable service, and especially recognise those who contribute exceptional reviews.

Congratulations to all the winners!

The Reviewer of the Year winners are:


Biofabrication Dr Silvia Fare, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Bioinspiration & Biomimetics Dr Daniel Renjewski, Technische Universität München, Germany
Plasma Sources Science and Technology Dr Deanna Lacoste, Ecole Centrale Paris, France
Biomedical Materials Dr Yu Sogo, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology Ibaraki, Japan
Classical and Quantum Gravity Professor Djordje Minic, Department of Physics, Virginia Tech, United States
Environmental Research Letters Dr Susan Anenberg, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, United States
European Journal of Physics Professor Rod Cross, University of Sydney, Australia
Flexible and Printed Electronics D.Sc. (Tech.) Jarkko Tolvanen, Microelectronics Research Unit, University of Oulu, Finland
Inverse Problems Professor Dr Stephane Andrieux, ONERA, France
Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering Professor Fei Wang, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
Journal of Neural Engineering Dr Marianna Semprini, Rehab Technologies, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
Journal of Optics Dr Sarang Pendharker, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical Physics Dr Daniel Stilck França, QMATH, Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Dr Kalyan Chakrabarti, Scottish Church College, India
Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics Professor Chih-Liang Wang, UT Austin, United States
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics Dr Ramona Vogt, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter Dr Arnab Banerjee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States
Measurement Science and Technology Professor Dr Christian Baldo, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence Dr Denis Svechkarev, University of Nebraska Medical Center, United States
Modelling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering Dr Julia Kundin, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
New Journal of Physics Dr Matteo Rizzi, University of Cologne and Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
Physical Biology Dr Eric Dykeman, University of York, UK
Physics in Medicine and Biology Dr James Chow, University of Toronto and PM/UHN, Canada
Physiological Measurement Professor Sabine Van Huffel, Stadius Center for Dynamical Systems, Signal Processing and Data Analytics, ESAT, KU Leuven, Belgium
Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion Dr Ben Dudson, University of York, UK
Smart Materials and Structures Professor Xinglong Gong, University of Science and Technology of China, China
Surface Topography: Metrology and Properties Dr Rashmiranjan Sahoo, Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute CSIR, India
Superconductor Science and Technology Dr Xinzhe Jin, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan