IOP Publishing announces the winners of the 2020 Reviewer Awards

20 Apr 2021 Rachael Harper

Reviewer Awards for 2020 

IOP Publishing (IOPP) is pleased to announce the winners of its Reviewer Awards for 2020.

Each year outstanding reviewers are selected by IOPP’s Editors based on the quality, quantity and timeliness of their reviews.  Most journals chose one person to receive the Reviewer of the Year Award and select a number of other excellent reviewers to receive an Outstanding Reviewer award.  This year IOPP recognised over 1,200 reviewers across 56 journals.    

The awards are part of IOPP’s commitment to recognising and rewarding peer reviewers for the work that they do. In September 2020 it launched the world’s first peer review certification programme dedicated to the physical sciences. ‘Peer review excellence: IOP training and certification’  gives early career researchers the ability to review with confidence with the possibility of achieving ‘IOP trusted reviewer’ status.  

Peer review forms the backbone of scholarly communication, providing essential rigour and validation for published papers. Thank you to everyone who provides this valuable service, and congratulations to the winners for this year! 

The 2020 Reviewer of the Year  award winners are: 

(To see the full list of winners, visit the respective journal homepage)

2D Materials Betül Gürünlü
Biofabrication Michael Gelinsky
Biomedical Materials Serge Ostrovidov
Inverse Problems James Webber
Journal of Optics Norman Gray
Journal of Physics A: Mathematical & Theoretical Arko Roy
Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Anton Peshkov
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics Igor Ivanov
Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter Antonio Seridonio
Journal of Physics Photonics Stephane Barland
Machine Learning: Science and Technology Pablo Antonio Moreno Casares
Modelling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering Saryu Fensin
Nanotechnology Xinyu Wang
Nonlinearity Katrin Gelfert
Physics in Medicine and Biology Chih-Chieh Liu
Physiological Measurement Marwa Al-Karadi
Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion Richard Pausch
Plasma Sources Science and Technology Helena Nowakowska
Superconductor Science and Technology Tobias Habisreuther
Applied Physics Express Taizoh Sadoh
Japanese Journal of Applied Physics Seiya Kasai