Reviewer of the Year Awards 2019

22 Apr 2020 Simon Davies

IOP Publishing has named the winners of its Reviewer Awards for 2019. 


The awards are part of IOP Publishing’s commitment to recognise and reward peer review. IOPP’s Editors carefully selected the best reviewers from each journal, based on the quality, quantity and timeliness of their reviews. 


Most journals chose one person to receive the Reviewer of the Year Award, and selected several other excellent reviewers to receive Outstanding Reviewer awards. 

Please visit the respective journal pages to see the full list of winners. This year IOP recognised over 1,600 reviewers from more than 60 countries, across 53 journals.  

Peer review forms the backbone of scholarly communication, providing essential rigour and validation for published papers. IOP Publishing wishes to thank everyone who provides this valuable service, and especially recognise those who contribute exceptional reviews. 

Congratulations to all the winners! 

The Reviewer of the Year winners are: 

2D Materials  Dr Bing Li, Imperial College London 
Biofabrication  Dr Shantanu Pradhan,Indian Institute of Technology Madras 
Bioinspiration & Biomimetics  Dr Jialei Song, Royal Veterinary College 
Biomedical Materials  Dr Jana Horakova, Technical University of Liberec 
Biomedical Physics &
Engineering Express
Dr Qingzhi Wu,Wuhan University of Technology 
Classical and Quantum Gravity  Dr Abhik Sanyal, Jangipur College 
Environmental Research Letters  Dr Tiziana Susca, Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development – ENEA 
Inverse Problems  Dr Samuel Cogar, Rutgers University 
Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering  Dr Christabel Tan, University of Hertfordshire 
Journal of Neural Engineering  Dr Simon Danner, Drexel University 
Journal of Optics  Dr Yi Weng, NeoPhotonics Corporation 
Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical  Professor Eytan Katzav, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem 
Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics  Professor Atsushi Iwasaki, The University of Tokyo 
Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter  Dr Anna Ciechan, Polish Academy of Sciences – Institute of Physics 
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear
and Particle Physics
Professor Nikolai Antonenko, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research 
New Journal of Physics  Dr Jan Gieseler, ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences 
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence  Professor Vasyl Pivovarenko, National Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv 
Modelling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering  Dr Håkan Hallberg, Lund University 
Nonlinearity  Dr Michael Winkler, Paderborn University 
Physical Biology  Dr Longhua Hu, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 
Physica Scripta  Dr Muhammad Khan, Quaid-i-Azam University* 

Dr Muhammad Khan, Heriot Watt University* 

*Joint winners 

Physics in Medicine and Biology  Dr Yang Lei, Emory Univeristy 
Physiological Measurement  Dr Maggie Delano, Swarthmore College 
Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion  Dr Felix Mackenroth, Max-Planck-Institut fur Physik komplexer Systeme 
Plasma Sources Science and Technology  Professor Jón Tómas Guðmundsson, University of Iceland 
Superconductor Science and Technology  Dr Pablo Cayado, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology