Skip to main content

Your web browser is out of date. Please update it for greater security, speed and the best experience on this site.

Choose a different browser

Winner of the 2021 Outstanding Early Career Investigator in Nanoscience Award

20 Jul 2022 by Juliet Hannay

The IOP Publishing Outstanding Early Career Investigator in Nanoscience Award, in collaboration with ChinaNano 2021, recognizes and rewards the exceptional achievements of early career researchers in nanoscience, relating specifically to energy or 2D materials and other low-dimensional systems.

On behalf of the award committee, we are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2021 Outstanding Early Career Investigator in Nanoscience Award is Yuan Liu (Hunan University). Yuan Liu’s research focuses on the construction of novel semiconductor devices, and the realization of high-performance two-dimensional transistors through van der Waals integration.

The winner: Yuan Liu, Hunan University

Due to the calibre of nominations received, the committee also decided to recognize two highly commended runners-up: Huhu Cheng (Tsinghua University) and Jizhai Cui (Fudan University). Huhu Cheng develops innovative carbon and polymer-based nanomaterials for transformative moisture-powered systems including electricity generation, artificial muscles and clean water production. Jizhai Cui is the first person to develop complex shape transformations on a cell-sized microrobot.

Highly commended runner-up: Huhu Cheng, Tsinghua University

Highly commended runner-up: Jizhai Cui, Fudan University

To celebrate the outstanding achievements of these early career researchers, IOP Publishing is organizing a virtual award ceremony and webinar. Chaired by Prof Yan Yu (University of Science and Technology of China and Board Member of Nanotechnology (IOP Publishing), this exciting virtual event will include a plenary talk from Professor Antonio Di Bartolomeo (University of Salerno, Italy) and a presentation from each awardee on their latest research.

The Webinar is scheduled for the end of August and more information will be available soon.

We will shortly be announcing the call for nominations for the 2023 Outstanding Early Career Investigator in Nanoscience Award. More information will be available shortly.

2021 Award Committee

  • Shixuan Du, Editor, Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter
  • Tongbu Lu, Editor, JPhys Energy​
  • Feng Li, Editor, JPhys Energy ​
  • Yongfeng Mei, Editor, JPhys Materials​
  • Wencai Ren, EiC, 2D Materials​
  • Yan Yu, Editor, Nanotechnology
  • Jinkui Zhao, EiC, Materials Futures


Share this