Reviewer of the Year Awards 2017

2 Mar 2018

As part of IOP Publishing’s commitment to recognise and reward peer review, it has announced its Reviewer Awards winners for 2017.

The best reviewers from each journal have been carefully selected by our Editors based on the quality, quantity and timeliness of their reviews.

Each journal has chosen one person to receive the Reviewer of the Year Award, and selected several other excellent reviewers to receive Outstanding Reviewer awards.

Visit to see the winners listed in full. Of the 27,687 researchers who reviewed for IOP in 2017, 1,327 have received an award.

Winners come from 74 countries, with Tsinghua University, China and Stanford University USA picking up the most awards, with 12 and 11 respectively.

Peer review forms the backbone of scholarly communication, providing essential rigour and validation for published papers. IOP Publishing wishes to thank everyone who provides this valuable service, and especially recognise those who contribute exceptional reviews.

Congratulations to all the winners!

The winners for each journal’s Reviewer of the Year are:

2D Materials Professor Stephen McDonnell, University of Virginia, United States
Bioinspiration & Biomimetics Professor Ian Walker, Clemson University, United States
Biomedical Materials Dr Tobias Führmann, University of Toronto, Canada
Biomedical Physics & Engineering Express Dr Jacinta Browne, Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland
Classical and Quantum Gravity Dr Matthew Pitkin, University of Glasgow, UK
Convergent Science Physical Oncology Dr Heiko Enderling, Moffitt Cancer Center, United States
Environmental Research Letters Dr Emily Grubert, University of California Berkeley Civil and Environmental Engineering, United States
European Journal of Physics Dr Bethany Wilcox, Colorado School of Mines, United States
Flexible and Printed Electronics Professor Dr Alessandro Chiolerio, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
Inverse Problems Dr Tanja Tarvainen, University of Eastern Finland, Finland
Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering Dr Douglas Sparks, Hanking Electronics LLC, China
Journal of Neural Engineering Dr Mads Jochumsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Journal of Optics Dr Christos Tserkezis, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical Dr Miquel Montero, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Professor Dejan Milošević, University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Journal of Physics Communications Dr Brett Altschul, University of South Carolina – Columbia, United States
Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics Dr Goran Sretenović, University of Belgrade, Serbia
Journal of Physics G: Nuclear and Particle Physics Dr Javier Menendez, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter Dr Mohammad Alidoust, NTNU, Norway
Journal of Radiological Protection Dr Hilde Olerud, Statens stralevern, Norway
Materials Research Express Dr P Narayanasamy, Kamaraj College of Engineering and Technology, India
Measurement Science and Technology Dr Dorothee Hüser, Physikalisch – Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany
Methods and Applications in Fluorescence Professor John Girkin, Durham University, UK
Modelling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering Dr Alexey Lyulin, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Nano Futures Dr Si-Xue Cheng, Wuhan University, China
Nanotechnology Professor Enrique Calleja, ISOM, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
New Journal of Physics Dr Michał Karpiński, Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland
Nonlinearity Dr Mike Todd, University of St Andrews, UK
Physica Scripta Dr Andrey Litnovsky, Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany
Physical Biology Dr Matt Ferguson, Boise State University, United States
Physics in Medicine and Biology Dr James Chow, University of Toronto and University Health Network, Canada
Physiological Measurement Associate Professor Dr Daniel Schneditz, Otto Loewi Research Center, Medical University of Graz, Austria
Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion Dr Olivier Izacard, Princeton University, United States
Plasma Sources Science and Technology Professor Jon Tomas Gudmundsson, University of Iceland, Iceland
Semiconductor Science and Technology Professor Roland Van Meirhaeghe, Universiteit Gent, Belgium
Smart Materials and Structures Dr Kudela Pawel, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Superconductor Science and Technology Professor Richard Klemm, University of Central Florida, United States
Translational Materials Research Mr Kaushik Parmar, University of Calgary, Canada