Congratulations to the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics laureates

06 Oct 2015 iopp"> iopp

After all the recent excitement and speculation about who will be crowned the winner of this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics, the wait is over!

IOP Publishing congratulates Takaaki Kajita in Japan and Arthur B. McDonald in Canada on becoming the latest Nobel Prize laureates. The scientists were awarded for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass.

Jamie Hutchins, Publishing Director at IOP Publishing said: “All of us at IOP would like to extend our warmest congratulations to Professors Kajita and McDonald on winning the Nobel Prize. As key scientists in large research groups, their observations changed our fundamental understanding of matter and has influenced many new approaches to capture and measure these particles."

He went on to say: “We were delighted to see that some of the papers, published by IOP and our partners (the AAS, CPS, CAS, DPG, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Physics) were cited in the Nobel Prize scientific background document. In recognition of this achievement, we have made these papers freely available and encourage all to read them.”

A special Nobel Prize collection containing papers by Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald, as well as other content in the field of neutrino oscillations, are free to read until the end of the year. Go to to read the collection.